Life is worth celebrating

I tried this year. I really did. I took my birth date off Facebook. I thought that would avoid all the fuss. Like I could just have a quiet birthday. Of course I would want my family and close friends to remember and they would anyway (well, most of them…). But this way it would avoid all the greetings from so many people that it makes it look like you’re a celebrity. Only you know you aren’t. So……no fuss, no noise, let’s keep it quiet.Birthday balloons

But of course some family members posted on Facebook anyway and before you know, everyone’s in on it, all your friends are commenting and liking and posting and sharing and wishing you a really happy birthday.

So yes! it’s my birthday! And it’s been a great day – in fact a great weekend. Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to like or comment or send a greeting. Thanks for joining in the celebrations! Each of you has added to them, like one of the balloons in the picture. And I am thankful.

I am thankful for life and health and family and friends; for faith and joy and hope and love and freedom to enjoy them all; and for the reminder today that no matter how good this life may be and no matter how hard it may be, when it is all over, real life will only just begin. “But for them it was only the beginning of the real story. All their life in this world and all their adventures in Narnia had only been the cover and the title page: now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on forever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.”
C.S. Lewis, The Last Battle

3 thoughts on “Life is worth celebrating

Leave a Reply

