What kind of a guide are you looking for?

guide

(1) Someone who knows the way.

That would seem obvious but if you have no sense of direction like me, not so. I could get lost in my own hometown. So a guide who knows his way would be imperative. And not just one way to get somewhere. Once I learn the way to a place, I feel pretty pleased with myself. But I only know that one way. So if ever there is a diversion, you’ve got it – I’m lost again. So the guide needs to know the way so well that, even if there is a diversion or an obstacle in the way, he can still get me there.

The Bible says that God ‘knows the way that I take’ Job 23:10.

(2) Someone who wants to get me there.

A guide could be an excellent guide but it’s not every guide who would want to take along a fellow-traveller like me. I need someone who cares enough to take me along – and not just part of the way. Someone who will take me along till we reach the end of the journey.

‘This is God, our God forever and ever. He will guide us forever’. Psalm 48:14.

(3) Someone who won’t give up.

I get tired, discouraged, frustrated, sometimes I want to give up. I need a guide who will not only keep going himself – but will keep me going too, especially when the going gets tough.

‘Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever’ Psalm 23:6.

He will take me to the end of the journey.

He will take me home.

 

Leave a Reply

