Do I live as if Jesus didn’t die for me?

In his sermon on Galatians on Sunday evening, Alan challenged us to ask ourselves whether we are living as if Jesus didn’t die for us at all. We know in our heads that He did – and we have accepted that in our hearts – but does it make any difference to the way we live? I’ve been thinking about this a little bit and here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

When I act or react out of fear of others, I am living as if Jesus didn’t die for me. (‘There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love’. I John 4:18.)

When I worry about something,  I am living as if Jesus didn’t die for me. (‘Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.’ Phil.4:6.)

When I am prejudiced against another person,  I am living as if Jesus didn’t die for me. (‘For he himself is our peace, who has made the two one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility, by abolishing in his flesh the law with its commandments and regulations. His purpose was to create in himself one new man out of the two, thus making peace’. Ephesians 2:14,15.)

When I care more about what others think of me than about what Jesus thinks of me,  I am living as if Jesus didn’t die for me – for He is my Righteousness and therefore it doesn’t matter what others think of me. (‘In his days Judah will be saved and Israel will live in safety. This is the name by which he will be called: The LORD Our Righteousness.’ Jeremiah 23:6.)

When I strive to please God with activity and cannot simply rest in the knowledge of His love for me, I am living as if Jesus didn’t die for me. (‘For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.”‘ Romans 8:15.)

Maybe others have other ideas about how we live as if Jesus didn’t die for us?

Leave a Reply

